定义无神论

定义无神论

 
当前位置: 哲学 >> 定义无神论

无神论—定义
有两种基本的无神论:“强”无神论和“弱”无神论。强无神论指根本没有神或众神的教条。弱无神论指对神或众神之存在表示怀疑和否定。

弱无神论常与不可知论和怀疑论混淆;不可知论是缺乏或怀疑对神或众神的信任,怀疑论认为仅靠人类不可能获得关于神存在的绝对知识。许多不可知论者和怀疑论者是“实践无神论者”,因为他们积极追求一种无神论的生活方式。排除神就必然产生道德相对论

许多哲学家都认同无神论哲学家伯特兰‧罗素(1872-1970)所提出的:没有神就没有绝对真理,因此也没有普遍的道德行为标准。人文主义者约翰•杜威(1859-1952)是《人文主义宣言I》(1933年)的作者和签名者之一,他说:“没有神也没有灵魂。因此,我们不需要传统宗教的支柱。排除了教义和信条后,永恒不变的真理也死去并被埋葬。不存在固定、自然的法则或是绝对道德。”

无神论—强无神论
“强”无神论与客观现实相对应还是相矛盾?我们客观地考虑一下这个问题。假如有人问你:“神存在吗?”你可以有三种回答:“我确信神存在”(确定有神论)、“我不知道神是否存在”(不确定有神论、不可知论、“弱”无神论和/或怀疑论)或是“我确信神不存在”(“强”无神论)。

要确定神的存在不必做到无所不知,但必须了解—你自己知道神,或是你意识到有证据表明神的存在。如果不确定神的存在,你也不必无所不知。事实上,你让自己不去了解一切。然而,要宣称明确知道神不存在——确定断言一个全盘否定——你就必须了解一切。要绝对确定神不存在于你的知识范围之外,你就必须掌握一切知识。

我们实际一点。你知道一切吗?你知道一切的一半吗?你知道一切的1%吗?我们暂且格外仁慈地假设,你知道所需了解的一切中的1%。托马斯‧爱迪生曾确定地说:“我们对于一切的了解都不到百分之一的百万分之一。”然而,假设你知道一切的1%,是否可能证明神存在的证据就在你不知道的另外99%当中呢?如果你诚实,你就必须承认这的确可能。事实上,既然你没有掌握所有的知识,你也就不知道这样的证据存在与否。因此,你不可能是一个“强”无神论者—因为你不知道神不存在。

无神论和有神论
强无神论从逻辑上讲有漏洞。弱无神论、不可知论和怀疑论都是“我不知道”的神学立场,弱无神论者依附无神论的假设,真正的不可知论者“骑墙”而怀疑论者屈从于无知。确定有神论者是唯一宣称知晓一切的人。他们知道什么? 最终你信什么不重要。真正重要的是相信什么是真实的。你可能不相信有重力。可是如果你要跨过高楼的话,肯定会坠楼而下。神的存在对于你我都有巨大意义,而审慎的态度会让我们对所有现存资料全面考查后才将我们的永生置于无论哪一种信仰系统中。问问自己这些问题吧:“我怎么知道它是真的?”“我的信息来源是什么?”“我的信息来源绝对可靠吗?”“万一我错了怎么办?”

现在了解更多!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


哲学世界观

唯物论
宇宙论
文化相对论
定义无神论
不可知论者
共产主义
自然主义
道德相对论
人文主义
Additional Content To Explore...

科学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 定义无神论 to My Google!
Add 定义无神论 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 定义无神论
哲学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutPhilosophy.org, 保留所有权利。

Atheism

allaboutphilosophy

Atheism - Defining the Terms
There are two basic forms of atheism: "strong" atheism and "weak" atheism. Strong atheism is the doctrine that there is no God or gods. Weak atheism is the disbelief in or denial of the existence of God or gods.
Weak atheism is often confused with agnosticism, the lack of belief or disbelief in God or gods, and skepticism, the doctrine that the absolute knowledge of God's existence is unobtainable by mere man. Many agnostics and skeptics are "practical atheists" in that they actively pursue an atheistic lifestyle. The exclusion of God necessitates moral relativism.

Atheist philosopher Bertrand Russell (1872-1970) declared, and philosophers generally agree, without God there is no absolute truth and thus no universal moral standard of conduct. Humanist John Dewey (1859-1952), co-author and signer of the Humanist Manifesto I (1933), declared, "There is no God and there is no soul. Hence, there are no needs for the props of traditional religion. With dogma and creed excluded, then immutable truth is also dead and buried. There is no room for fixed, natural law or moral absolutes."

Atheism - Strong Atheism
Does "strong" atheism correspond with or contradict objective reality? Let's look at this question objectively. Suppose someone asks you, "Does God exist?" You could answer in one of three ways: "I know for certain that God exists" (assured theism), "I don't know whether or not God exists" (insecure theism, agnosticism, "weak" atheism and/or skepticism), or "I know for certain that God doesn't exist" ("strong" atheism).

To know for certain that God exists, you don't have to know everything but you do have to know something - you must either know God personally or you must be aware of some evidence establishing His existence. To be unsure whether or not God exists, you don't have to know everything. In fact, by your own admission you don't know everything. However, to claim to know for certain that God doesn't exist - to positively assert a universal negative - you would have to know everything. To be absolutely certain that God doesn't exist outside the limits of your knowledge, you would have to possess all knowledge.

Let's make this practical. Do you know everything? Do you know half of everything? Do you know 1% of everything? Let's be incredibly gracious and suppose that you know 1% of everything there is to know. Thomas Edison confidently declared, "We do not know a millionth of one percent about anything." Nevertheless, given the supposition that you know 1% of everything, is it possible that evidence proving God's existence exists in the 99% of everything you don't know? If you're honest, you'll have to admit that it's a real possibility. The fact is, since you don't possess all knowledge, you don't know if such evidence exists or not. Thus, you cannot be a "strong" atheist - you don't know that God doesn't exist.

Atheism vs. Theism
Strong atheism is a logically flawed position. Weak atheism, agnosticism and skepticism are all "I don't know" theological positions, with weak atheists subscribing to atheistic presuppositions, true agnostics "sitting on the fence," and skeptics capitulating to ignorance. Assured theists are the only ones who claim to know anything. What do they know? In the end it doesn't matter what you believe. What matters is what's actually true. You might not believe in gravity. Nevertheless, if you step off a tall building you are going to splat on the ground below. The existence of God has enormous implications for you and me, and prudence would have us make a full investigation of all the available data before putting our eternity in the care of any one belief-system. Ask yourself these types of questions: "How do I know something's true?" "What is the source of my information?" "Is my source absolutely reliable?" "What if I'm wrong?"

Learn More Now!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?