Clicky

我为什么在这里?

我为什么在这里?

 - 世界观
当前位置: 哲学 >> 我为什么在这里?

我为什么在这里?--一个根本问题
我为什么在这世上?我从哪里来?我有什么价值?我有没有内在的价值?我服务于某一目的吗?这些都是根本问题。这些是生命的“重大”问题。你的回答将决定你如何看待和对待世界。因为你是世界的一部分,你如何看待世界也决定了你如何看待和对待自己。所以我们必须解决这些根本问题。也必须发现真正的真理。重大问题答错了不会有好处。

我们从哪里开始找寻真理呢?我们从起初开始。也许最根本的问题是:神存在吗?这是根本,因为其它“重大问题”的答案实际上就围绕着我们对这个重要问题的回答。例如…

我为什么在这里?--无神论的世界观
我为什么在这里?如果神不存在,那就意味着生命肯定是通过某种自然的非人性的、非智能的和最终无目的的过程而形成。生命只是偶然,你也是偶然。你可以找到短期的生命理由,比如你来到世上是因为你父母想要孩子等等,但归根结底你也只是偶然,而你的父母也是偶然。生命就是一个大大的偶然。你没有目的、你不会造成长期的影响,而在庞大的事物体系中你的生命根本没有意义。没有了最初的创造者,就没人有意把你带到这里来,也就是说你的到来是没有原因的。就这么简单。

如果问到“我有什么价值”,没有了神我们都没什么内在的价值,至少没什么客观的价值。我们的价值最终是主观的。你可以觉得自己有价值,但别人会认为你毫无价值;只要没有超自然的评判作最后断言,没有人知道最终的对错。事实上,如果没有神也就没有对错之分了。20世纪著名无神论者约翰•杜威(1859-1952)曾说:“没有神也没有灵魂。因此,我们不需要传统宗教的支柱。排除了教条和教义后,永恒不变的真理也死去并被埋葬。不存在固定、自然的法则或是绝对道德。”1

哲学家们普遍认为:没有了绝对的神制定这些规则,也就没有什么道德绝对性;只有偏好而已。你不必真的有生的权利;你只是偏好不死。相反别人可能会不顾你的感受想要杀死你,谁又会说他们错呢?没有了绝对的道德,权力至高无上;强者胜弱者亡。

幸亏大多数政府认为有责任支持他们看作是神赐的生命权利,而政府正是人类最坚强的机构(这就意味着他们可以对那些不一定同意你的生命权的人行使道德约束。美国的开国元勋们说得很好:“我们认为这些真理是不言而喻 的:所有的人是受造而平等的,造物主赋予了他们一些不可转让的权利,其中包括生命权、自由权和追求幸福的权利。为了保障这些权 利,政府在他们之间建立,而政府之正当权力,则来自被统治者的同意…”可惜一些政府不赞同这样的世界观,其人民苦难深重。

我为什么在这里?--有神论世界观
我为什么在这里?如果神确实存在,那就意味着他是终极的现实。如果他创造你是有目的的,那就是你为什么会在这里。如果你对他是有价值的,那就是你最终的价值。他说对的就绝对是对,他说错的就绝对是错。我们也许是自由的道德体,能够自由做出道德决定,但那并不意味着我们可以决定什么是对错;那只意味着我们能选择做错还是对。神定了律法。问题是:他会执行吗?神要我们为道德决定负责吗?大多数人的普遍直觉是:是的,神要我们负责。这就仿佛大多数人都本能地知道:终有一天他们要对自己做的坏事作出解释(当然意味着他们也本能地知道有道德绝对性这样的事情)。

关键是,如果神真的存在,“正义”、“目的”和“道德”这样的字眼就不是抽象的概念了:神是对你有目的的(所以他造了你),他设立了道德,而最后他要看到天下的审判。这对一些人来说很安慰,却也使另一些人惶恐。

所以不要先问“我为什么在这里?”,先问“神存在吗?”如果他不存在就没必要问“我为什么在这里?”—一切都将没有意义。如果他真的存在,当你发现他是谁时,你会找到生活的理由。所以,从起初开始吧。神存在吗?

现在了解更多!

脚注:
1 克利夫顿•法迪曼,编著,《生活哲学:回顾我们时代的著名男女》,纽约,西蒙-舒斯特公司1931年。


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


哲学世界观

宇宙论
神存在吗?
自然神论
道德
我为什么在这里?
神是真实的吗?
二元论
道德规范
神存在吗?
Additional Content To Explore...

科学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 我为什么在这里? to My Google!
Add 我为什么在这里? to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 我为什么在这里?
哲学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutPhilosophy.org, 保留所有权利。

Why Am I Here?

allaboutphilosophy

Why Am I Here? - A Fundamental Question
Why am I here on earth? Where did I come from? What am I worth? Do I have any intrinsic value? Do I serve a purpose? These are all fundamental questions. They are life's "big questions." How you answer these questions determines how you see the world and how you treat the world. Because you are a part of the world, how you see the world also determines how you see and treat yourself. So, it's important that we resolve these fundamental questions. And it's important that we discover the honest truth. Wrong answers to important questions aren't helpful.

Where do we begin in our search for the truth? We begin at the beginning. Perhaps the most fundamental question is: does God exist? It's fundamental because our answers to the other "big questions" actually hinge on how we answer this significant question. For example…

Why Am I Here? - The Atheistic Worldview
Why I am here? Well, if God doesn't exist, that means that life must have come about through some natural impersonal, unintelligent, and ultimately purposeless process. That means we're ultimately as purposeless as the very process which brought us into existence. Life's just an accident and so are you. You can find short term reasons for living like you're here because your parents wanted to have children, etc., but ultimately you're just an accident and so are your parents. Life is one big accident. You serve no purpose, you'll cause no lasting effect, and in the grand scheme of things your life is utterly meaningless. Without a Creator in the beginning, there was nobody around to put you here on purpose which means you aren't here for a reason. It's that simple.

As far as asking "what am I worth," without God we don't actually have an intrinsic value, at least not an objective one. Our worth is ultimately subjective. You might think you're worth something but someone else might think you're worthless, and as long as there's no transcendent Assessor to have the final say, no one's ultimately right or wrong. In fact, without God there's really no such thing as right or wrong. John Dewey (1859-1952), the famous 20th century atheist explained, "There is no God and there is no soul. Hence, there are no needs for the props of traditional religion. With dogma and creed excluded, then immutable truth is also dead and buried. There is no room for fixed, natural law or moral absolutes."1

Philosophers generally agree: without an absolute God to make the rules, there is no such thing as a moral absolute; there are only preferences. You don't actually have a right to live; you just prefer not to die. Someone else on the other hand might want to kill you regardless of how you feel about it, and who is to say that they're wrong? In the absence of absolute morality, power reigns supreme; the strong survive and the weak get exploited.

Thankfully most governments see it as their duty to uphold what they see as your God-given right to live, and governments also happen to be the strongest institution among men (which means they can enforce morality upon those who don't necessarily agree with your right to live). The founders of the United States of America put it well when they declared, "We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness, that to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed…" Unfortunately, some governments don't share this worldview and their people suffer terribly for it.

Why Am I Here? - The Theistic Worldview
Why am I here? Well, if God does exist, that means He is ultimate reality. If He created you for a reason, that's ultimately why your here. If you're valuable to Him, that's ultimately what you're worth. What He says is right is absolutely right and what He says is wrong is absolutely wrong. We may be free moral agents with the freedom to make moral decisions, but that doesn't mean we can choose what actually is right or wrong; that just means we're capable of choosing to be right or wrong. God makes the rules. The question is: will He enforce them? Will God ever hold us accountable for our moral decisions? The prevailing instinct among the majority seems to be that, yes, God will hold us accountable. It's as if most people instinctually know that one day they're going to have to explain all the bad things they've done (which of course means that they also instinctually know that there is such a thing as moral absolutes).

The point is, if God really does exist, terms like "justice," "purpose," and "morality" aren't abstract notions: God has a purpose for you (that's why He made you), He's the one who instituted morality, and in the end He'll see that justice prevails. That's a comforting thought to some, but it's terrifying to others.

So don't begin by asking, "Why am I here?" Begin by asking, "Does God exist?" If He doesn't exist there's really no point in asking "why am I here?" - everything is ultimately pointless. And if He does exist, you'll discover your reason for living when you discover who He is. So begin at the beginning. Does God exist?

Explore More Now!

Footnote:
1 Clifton Fadiman, ed., Living Philosophies: The Reflections of Some Eminent Men and Women of Our Time, New York: Simon Schuster, 1931.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?