孔子的一生

孔子的一生

 
当前位置: 哲学 >> 孔子的一生

孔子的一生—孔夫子生平
孔子名为孔丘,公元前551年生于中国东北部。当时中国“诸侯”割据,自组军队、发动战争、压迫奴隶、税赋很重。孔丘在鲁国的一个贫寒家庭长大,少年时自学。十几岁时曾做小吏管理农业账目。从那时起孔丘对伦理哲学发生了强烈的兴趣。

成年后,孔丘离开家乡开始周游列国。他的理想是让占统治地位的王侯们接受他的哲学,认为这些当权者应该以仁治国;不应追逐权力、控制、财富或自我,而是应该理解其更高目的,即仿效无私的榜样去行“义”。

孔丘多年一直被根基深厚的诸侯排斥(这是可以理解的)。然而,在他的游历中,孔丘获得了被压迫民众的爱戴(这也是可以理解的)。他最后回到家乡鲁国开办私学,传授他的思想,弟子渐众。孔丘教授伦理学、领导学、历史学、心理学和艺术。他的策略是用德行教育年轻人,然后让他们到各地做官,这样就能真正起到改革的作用。

作为老师,孔丘被称为“孔夫子”(孔老师)。他多年授“徒”,并帮忙安插他们从政。夫子把政治制度看作在全国应用其伦理改革的最广泛途径。孔夫子于公元前478年去世时,已被当作和释迦牟尼佛齐名的东方两个最伟大的伦理思想家之一。

当埃斯库罗斯和苏格拉底在希腊世界酝酿伦理哲学、哈该和撒迦利亚鼓励犹太人回到耶路撒冷的时候,孔夫子(后来英语中将其拉丁化,成为“Confucius”,即孔子)已经在推广一种伦理人文主义的哲学,这对于以后几千年间中国的社会、政治和哲学结构都产生了巨大影响。

孔子的一生— 《论语》
孔子的生平和他的教导最早由詹姆斯‧理雅各于1867年翻译成英语。直到1907年才有了可读性更强也更权威的译本,由大不列颠博物馆东方书稿部的管理员莱昂内尔‧贾尔斯翻译,牛津出版社出版。读着《论语》,我们会很快意识到孔子的生活比幸运签饼里的格言纸条深邃多了:

    “君子有三畏:畏天命,畏大人,畏圣人之言。小人不知天命而不畏也,狎大人,侮圣人之言。”1

    “子曰:‘ 天下有道,则礼乐征伐自天子出;天下无道,则礼乐征伐自诸侯出。自诸侯出,盖十世希不失矣。’2

    “子曰:‘君子义以为质,礼以行之,逊以出之,信以成之。君子哉!’”3

孔子的一生— 其哲学深度
鉴于孔子生活的动荡年代,在他一生中形成的伦理系统确实非同凡响。更非凡的是他那些总结性话语,那些言谈出自一个生活在崇拜祖先和土地爷世界、而根本不知道什么希腊思想或古代《犹太圣经》的人,这太不可思议了。

孔子的一生 — 道德的重要性

1 《论语》,莱昂内尔‧贾尔斯译自汉语,伊斯顿出版公司,1976年,89页。
2 同上,14页。
3同上,94页。


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


哲学世界观

托马斯‧阿奎那
伟大的哲学家
希腊哲学家柏拉图
安东尼‧弗卢
阿卜杜勒拉赫曼三世
C.S.刘易斯名言
吉尔伽美什
布莱斯‧帕斯卡的成就
尼布甲尼撒
Additional Content To Explore...

科学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 孔子的一生 to My Google!
Add 孔子的一生 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 孔子的一生
哲学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutPhilosophy.org, 保留所有权利。

Life of Confucius

allaboutphilosophy

Life of Confucius – The History of K’ung the Master
The life of Confucius begins with a man named K’ung Ch’iu who was born in northeastern China in 551 BC. It was a time when China was being sliced into feudal states by the warlord “princes” who raised armies, waged battles, oppressed slave laborers, and heavily taxed subjects. Ch’iu was a self-educated youth, raised by a poor family in the state of Lu. In his teenage years, he had an administrative position with the local noble, managing his agricultural accounts. It was here that Ch’iu started developing a passion for ethical philosophy.

As an adult, Ch’iu left his homeland and began wandering from state to state in China. His ambition was to share his philosophy with the ruling princes, believing that these powerful leaders had an obligation to lead their people with virtue. Rather than leading for power, control, money, or ego, the princes of China must understand their higher purpose, which was to do “right” and lead by selfless example.

Over the years, Ch’iu was (understandably) rejected by the entrenched warlords. However, during his travels, Ch’iu (understandably) won the hearts of the oppressed people. He ultimately returned to his home state and started an informal school where he taught his principles to a growing number of followers. He taught in areas of ethics, leadership, history, psychology, and the arts. His strategy was to train-up young men in virtuous education and then watch them take positions in government throughout China, where they could have a true impact on transforming the land.

As a teacher, Ch’iu became known as K’ung Fu-tzu (K’ung the Master). He trained many “disciples” over the years, and helped install many of them in state government positions. The Master viewed political systems as the broadest way to apply his transformational ethics across China. By the time he died in 478 BC, K’ung Fu-tzu was considered, alongside Buddha, as one of the two greatest ethical minds in the East.

At a time when Aeschylus and Socrates were spawning the ethical philosophies of the Greek world, and Haggai and Zechariah were encouraging the Jews to return to Jerusalem, K’ung Fu-tzu (later Latinized as “Confucius”) was popularizing a philosophy of ethical humanism that would have a huge impact on the social, political, and philosophical structure of China for years to come.

Life of Confucius – The Sayings of Confucius
The life of Confucius and his teachings were first translated into English by James Legge in 1867. It wasn’t until 1907 that a more readable and authoritative translation was first published through Oxford University by Lionel Giles, Keeper of Oriental Books and Manuscripts in the British Museum. When we actually read the “Sayings of Confucius,” we quickly realize that the life of Confucius goes far deeper than fortune cookie fodder:

    “There are three things which the wise man holds in reverence: the Will of Heaven, those in authority, and the words of the sages. The fool knows not the Will of Heaven and holds it not in reverence: he is disrespectful to those in authority; he ridicules the words of the sages.1

    “Confucius said: ‘When the Empire is well governed, ceremonies and music and warlike operations are controlled by the Son of Heaven. When the Empire is in disorder, these things are controlled by the feudal princes, and will seldom outlast ten generations.’2

    “The Master said: ‘He who does not understand the Will of God can never be a man of the higher type. He who does not understand the inner law of self-control can never stand firm. He who does not understand the force of words can never know his fellow-men.’”3

Life of Confucius – The Depth of His Philosophy
The ethical system developed during the life of Confucius is truly remarkable considering the tumultuous time in which he lived. Even more remarkable are some of his conclusions, these from a man who lived in a world of ancestor worship and territorial gods, with no knowledge of Greek thought or the ancient Jewish scriptures.

Life of Confucius – The Importance of Morality

1 The Analects of Confucius, Translated from the Chinese by Lionel Giles, The Easton Press, 1976, 89.
2 Ibid. 14.
3 Ibid. 94.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?