伟大的哲学家

伟大的哲学家

 - 寻求神
当前位置: 哲学 >> 伟大的哲学家

伟大的哲学家 — 神的概念
过去的哲学家如何思想关于神的概念?历史上许多伟大的音乐家、科学家和领导人都公开承认他们相信一个全能的神。伟大的哲学思想家们又怎样呢?正如科学、音乐、美术和文化领域一样,很多受人尊敬的哲学家也明确了他们的信仰。一些表示坚决相信,一些表示怀疑,还有一些人只提问题。看看历史上一些最著名的哲学家对于哲学世界里的神提供的大量洞见。

希腊哲学家的问题大多是关于神性的总体概念,多是围绕道德问题。苏格拉底提出了狭义的但更常见的一条金科玉律:“己所不欲勿施于人。”苏格拉底的所有哲学都由他的名徒柏拉图叙述出来,所以很难说哪些信条是苏格拉底的,哪些是柏拉图的。柏拉图在其著作中描述了他所称的“良善的形式”,看起来他对一个超自然的权威是有所了解的。他甚至说:“死亡并不是人类最可怕的事。”甚至他对星星的兴趣也激发了他的信仰。用他自己的话说:“天文学迫使灵魂向高处看,使我们从这个世界到另一个世界。”

亚里士多德是柏拉图的学生,他当然也坚持“至善”观点。亚里士多德鼓励学生要培养获取经验的能力,不要轻信。“受过教育的头脑的特点是能够考虑一种思想而不一定接受它。”其它的话,如“我们一定不要再问灵魂和身体是否一体,就如同不问蜡和它上面刻着的数字是否一体一样”这些都是很好的证据,可以表明亚里士多德相信超越人类生命的某物和某人。

伟大的哲学家—哲学的声音
西方的伟大思想家不是唯一思考神的概念的人。东方思想家如孔子也建立了对于超自然造物主的信仰。孔子曾说:“死生有命,富贵在天。”和“天人合一”。孔子还教授了一个重要的哲学原则:“君子谋道。”在《约翰福音》18中,耶稣就彰显了那样的观点。

西方文明兴起时,哲学的声音多了起来。其中一个声音是奥古斯丁。他的神学和哲学观点在那个时代是引起争议的,但现在却是许多基督教派的根本。奥古斯丁特别欣赏基督教福音的独特性,他说:“我读过柏拉图和西塞罗的充满智慧的优美词句,但在他们的书里从未见过:我来担当你的辛劳和苦难”。奥古斯丁也从哲学上和科学上支持神迹概念,他说:“奇迹不是与自然相悖的,只是与我们对自然的了解相悖。”

后来的哲学家继续著书立说,展示他们对神的信仰或追求。阿奎那明确表示赞同合理的信仰,他说:“人类的理智更像神在世上。”和“对于有信仰的人,无需什么解释。对于无信仰的人,什么解释也无用。” 有过 “我思故我在”名言的笛卡尔也对他同时代人—其中很多不是信徒--的奇怪观点严厉斥责。他曾说:“最奇怪和最不可思议的话常常出自哲学家口中。”

帕斯卡也是一个坚定的信徒,常常谈到自己的信仰。在物理学上比他贡献更大的科学家屈指可数。帕斯卡说:“耶稣是我们能够不带骄傲去接近、在他面前也不必绝望而谦卑敬拜的神。”帕斯卡的赌注哲学常被误引误解,其实是他相信哲学信仰力量的完美例证。在谈到他的著名赌注时,帕斯卡说“信仰是聪明的赌注。假如信仰不能被证明,那么你赌它是真的而它实际是假的,你会受到什么伤害?如果赢了,你得到一切;如果输了,你什么都没失去。那么,我毫不犹豫地赌神是存在的。”帕斯卡是在告诉我们,基督徒相信基督是没有任何损失的。

伟大的哲学家—当代
更现代的哲学家们也不断宣扬他们对于神的信仰。如克尔凯郭尔说:“神从零创造了一切。你说很伟大。是啊,确实,但是他做了更伟大的事:他让罪人成为圣徒。”哲学世界充满了确信超自然神存在及其影响的才智男女。整个历史图谱都告诉我们哲学和信仰可以是强大的同盟军。

生命的意义是什么?


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


哲学世界观

尼布甲尼撒
托马斯‧阿奎那
伟大的哲学家
希腊哲学家柏拉图
吉尔伽美什
哲学名言
安东尼‧弗卢
阿卜杜勒拉赫曼三世
C.S.刘易斯名言
Additional Content To Explore...

科学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 伟大的哲学家 to My Google!
Add 伟大的哲学家 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 伟大的哲学家
哲学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutPhilosophy.org, 保留所有权利。

Great Philosophers

allaboutphilosophy

Great Philosophers – Ideas of God
What did the great philosophers of the past think about the idea of God? Many of the great musicians, scientists, and leaders in history professed some belief in an all-powerful God. What about the great thinkers of philosophy? Just as in science, music, the arts, and culture, there are a large number of respected philosophers who made clear statements about their faith. Some expressed strong belief. Some expressed doubt. Others just asked questions. Looking at some of history’s most famous philosophers provides a great deal of insight into the perception of God in the world of philosophy.

Greek philosophers mostly asked questions about the general idea of divinity, and framed their questions around moral issues. Socrates stated a narrow, more common version of the golden rule when he said, “Do not do to others what angers you if done to you by others.” All of Socrates’ philosophy was related by Plato, his most famous student, so it can be hard to tell what beliefs are from Socrates, and which are from Plato. Plato’s writings describe what he calls “The Form of the Good,” and he seemed to have some idea of a supernatural authority. He even stated, “Death is not the worst that can happen to man.” Even his interest in the stars inspired belief. In his own words, “Astronomy compels the soul to look upwards and leads us from this world to another.”

Aristotle, a student of Plato, certainly held to the idea of a “Highest Good.” Aristotle encouraged his students to develop an ability to gain experience, without being gullible. “It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.” Other statements, such as: “We must no more ask whether the soul and body are one than ask whether the wax and the figure impressed on it are one,” are good evidence that Aristotle did believe in something, and someone, beyond mortal life.

Great Philosophers – Voices of Philosophy
Great philosophers of the west were not the only ones contemplating the concept of God. Eastern thinkers such as Confucius were working out their beliefs in a supernatural Creator. Confucius once said, “Death and life have their determined appointments, riches and honors depend upon heaven,” and “Heaven means to be one with God.” Confucius also taught an important principle of philosophy, that “The object of the superior man is truth.” In John 18, Jesus provided a focal point for that very idea.

During the rise of Western civilization, the number of voices in philosophy grew. One of these voices was Augustine. His ideas about theology and philosophy were controversial in their time, but have become foundational to many Christian denominations. Augustine had a strong appreciation for the uniqueness of the Christian gospel, saying “I have read in Plato and Cicero sayings that are wise and very beautiful; but I have never read in either of them: Come unto me all ye that labor and are heavy laden.'' He also supported the concept of miracles, both philosophically and scientifically, with quotes such as, “Miracles are not contrary to nature, but only contrary to what we know about nature.”

Later philosophers continued to write and speak words that demonstrated their belief in, and search for, a real God. Aquinas spoke clearly in favor of reasoned faith, saying “Reason in man is rather like God in the world,” and “To one who has faith, no explanation is necessary. To one without faith, no explanation is possible.” Descartes, who famously stated “I think; therefore I am,” also had scathing words for some of the strange views of his contemporaries -- many of whom were non-believers. He once claimed “There is nothing so strange and unbelievable that it has not been said by one philosopher or another.”

Pascal was also a staunch believer, and commented often about his faith. There are only a handful of scientists who have contributed more to our understanding of physics than him. Pascal said, “Jesus is the God whom we can approach without pride and before whom we can humble ourselves without despair.” Pascal’s wager, while often misquoted and usually misunderstood, is a perfect example of his belief in the philosophical strengths of belief. In stating his famous wager, Pascal actually said “Belief is a wise wager. Granted that faith cannot be proved, what harm will come to you if you gamble on its truth and it proves false? If you gain, you gain all; if you lose, you lose nothing. Wager, then, without hesitation, that He exists.” Here Pascal is really saying that the Christian has nothing to lose by believing in Christ.

Great Philosophers – Contemporary
More contemporary great philosophers have continued to proclaim their faith and belief in God. For example, Kierkegaard stated that “God creates out of nothing. Wonderful you say. Yes, to be sure, but he does what is still more wonderful: he makes saints out of sinners.” The philosophical world is full of brilliant and talented men and women who clearly believed in the existence and influence of a supernatural God. The entire spectrum of history demonstrates that philosophy and faith can be powerful allies.

What is the Meaning of Life?


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?