文化相对论

文化相对论

 - 不合逻辑的标准
当前位置: 哲学 >> 文化相对论

文化相对论:所有真理都是局部的
文化相对论认为不同文化中的不同道德和伦理系统都是同样正确的,没有哪个系统比另一个“更好”。它基于这样的概念:善恶没有终极标准,所以任何是非判断都是社会的产物。因此任何道德伦理的看法都受到各人的文化视角的影响。最终,这就意味着没有什么道德伦理系统可以称为“最好”或“最坏”,也没有什么道德伦理立场可以被看作“正确”或是“错误”。

文化相对论是现代世界中很流行的一种立场。当“文化”的界线扩大之后,“多元化”、“包容性”、“接纳”这样的词也拥有了新的意义。现代社会没有严格定义这些概念,因此基于“相对论”,几乎任何事物都可能是合理的。“相对论”这把大伞包括相当多的概念,而所有概念都在先前稳定的领域里引发了不稳定和不确定。

走到悬崖边上,可以让你从好的视角看下面的地形。但如果像文化相对论那样,再往前迈一步就只能是灾难了。

显然,视角对于我们理解历史、心理和政治都是重要的。文化视角可以帮助我们理解某种文化为什么把一些行为看作是对或错。例如,在古代社会里,把头发染成绿色是一种要被惩罚的过错。大多数现代社会却认为此行尽管奇怪,但不足为过。然而,良好的文化视角还能告诉我们更多。如果我们发现原来绿色头发是妓女的标志,我们就会理解错的不是头发的颜色,而是卖淫这种行为。

但是,从文化视角换到文化相对论所产生的问题是文化相对论抹煞了其中的原因。它不会仅仅说“我们要理解其它文化的道德观,”而是说“我们不能评判其它文化的道德观”,无论其行为的动机是什么。不再有任何视角,也基本不可能探讨任何文化行为的对错。如果坚持严格的文化相对论,那么就不可能说把人献活祭是“错”,而尊重长者是“对”。毕竟,这些都是文化的产物。这就把任何关于道德的讨论放在了悬崖边上,也使之成为无意义的胡言乱语。

文化相对论:绝对不可能
文化相对论的矛盾马上就显现出来了。一个赞同没有绝对的“对”或“错”的社会将失去任何判断力。相对论,包括文化相对论,已经渗透进现代社会,它表现在我们试图应对这种矛盾的奇怪行径上。“包容性”已经突变为对于任何看法和生活方式的无条件支持和赞同。然而,那些选择“不包容”的人却不被支持和赞同。因此,“包容性”只是成为自身的一个“极致的善”,却是与相对论的整个概念相矛盾。同样,强奸和谋杀这样令人发指的罪行要求道德审判— 而严格的文化相对论不会说这样的事始终是错的。

从纯粹逻辑的视角来看,相对论整个都不成立。其根本前提是“真理是相对的”。如果每个真实论述都是正确的,那么“一些真理是绝对的”就是正确的。如果按照相对论所说“没有绝对真理”是准确的,--这本身就是一个绝对真理。这和相对论概念本身就是矛盾的,即绝对的相对性是自相矛盾和不可能的。

文化相对论:瓦解
实际上,文化相对论无法克服逻辑的界线,也不能跨越人类固有的道德感。我们本能地知道有些是错的,所以文化相对论者试图调整其哲学来适应这个需求。他们声称一些行为在“多数情况下”是错的,或“多数情况下”是对的,这只不过是现编的规则。说一些道德观即使不是“最好”,但可以是“更好”,也意味着仍然需要某种终极标准来做出这样的判断。除非你知道“高”是什么方向,你怎么知道云更高?坚决认为某些事始终是错误的就是否定相对论本身。最终,坚持把守相对论的人必须抛弃逻辑,因为二者不相容。一个人根本不可能理性地相信没有绝对道德,或至少不相信绝对道德但还能过任何有意义的生活。

既然这一哲学是荒谬的,那么无论既定社会的看法如何,都会有基本的绝对的对错。既然不同文化会有不同看法,我们就不能假定这些真理是由一个特别民族制定。事实上,这些概念唯一合乎逻辑的发源必须更加普遍,或至少比文化更为根本。

现在发现更多!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


哲学世界观

唯物论
文化唯物论
不可知论者
宇宙论
道德相对论
人文主义
共产主义
自然主义
文化相对论
Additional Content To Explore...

科学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 文化相对论 to My Google!
Add 文化相对论 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 文化相对论
哲学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutPhilosophy.org, 保留所有权利。

Cultural Relativism

allaboutphilosophy

Cultural Relativism: All Truth Is Local
Cultural Relativism is the view that moral or ethical systems, which vary from culture to culture, are all equally valid and no one system is really “better” than any other. This is based on the idea that there is no ultimate standard of good or evil, so every judgment about right and wrong is a product of society. Therefore, any opinion on morality or ethics is subject to the cultural perspective of each person. Ultimately, this means that no moral or ethical system can be considered the “best,” or “worst,” and no particular moral or ethical position can actually be considered “right” or “wrong.”

Cultural relativism is a widely held position in the modern world. Words like “pluralism,” “tolerance,” and “acceptance” have taken on new meanings, as the boundaries of “culture” have expanded. The loose way in which modern society defines these ideas has made it possible for almost anything to be justified on the grounds of “relativism.” The umbrella of “relativism” includes a fairly wide range of ideas, all of which introduce instability and uncertainty into areas that were previously considered settled.

Stepping up to the edge of a cliff gives you a good perspective of the terrain below. Taking one step too far, as cultural relativism does, is simply a disaster.

Obviously, perspective is important to our understanding of history, psychology, and politics. Cultural perspective can help us understand why certain actions are considered right or wrong by a particular culture. For example, an ancient society might have considered dyeing one’s hair green to be a punishable offense. Most modern societies would find that strange, if not oppressive. Yet, good cultural perspective might tell us more. If we were to find out that green hair was a sign of a prostitute, we would understand that it wasn’t the hair color itself, but the prostitution that was truly considered “wrong.”

However, the problem with moving from cultural perspective to cultural relativism is the erosion of reason that it causes. Rather than simply saying, “we need to understand the morals of other cultures,” it says, “we cannot judge the morals of other cultures,” regardless of the reasons for their actions. There is no longer any perspective, and it becomes literally impossible to argue that anything a culture does is right or wrong. Holding to strict cultural relativism, it is not possible to say that human sacrifice is “wrong,” or that respect for the elderly is “right.” After all, those are products of the culture. This takes any talk of morality right over the cliff, and into meaningless gibberish.

Cultural Relativism: Absolutely Impossible
The contradiction of cultural relativism becomes immediately apparent. A society that embraces the notion that there is no ultimate “right” or “wrong” loses the ability to make any judgments at all. The way in which relativism, including cultural relativism, has permeated modern society is demonstrated in the bizarre ways in which we try to deal with this contradiction. “Tolerance” has mutated to imply unconditional support and agreement for all opinions or lifestyles. However, those who choose to be “intolerant” are not to be supported or agreed with. Tolerance, therefore, becomes an “ultimate good” in and of itself, which is contradictory to the entire idea of relativism. In the same way, heinous crimes such as rape and murder demand a moral judgment -- but strict cultural relativism cannot say that such things are always wrong.

Relativism in general breaks down when examined from a purely logical perspective. The basic premise is that “truth is relative.” If every truth statement is valid, then the statement “some truths are absolute” must be valid. The statement “there are no absolute truths” is accurate, according to relativism -- but it is an absolute truth itself. These contradict the very concept of relativism, meaning that absolute relativism is self-contradictory and impossible.

Cultural Relativism: Crumbling Away
In practice, cultural relativism cannot overcome the boundaries of logic, nor can it override the sense of morality inherent to mankind. We instinctively know that some things are wrong, so cultural relativists attempt to tweak their philosophy to fit that need. Declaring certain actions “mostly” wrong, or “mostly” right is nothing more than making up the rules as one goes. Saying that some morals are “better,” even if they aren’t “the best,” still implies some ultimate standard that’s being used to make that judgment. How do you know which cloud is higher unless you know which way “up” is? To firmly state that anything at all is always wrong is to reject relativism itself. In the end, those who insist on clinging to cultural relativism must jettison logic, because there isn’t room for both. It is literally impossible for a person to rationally believe that there are no moral absolutes, or at least to live out that belief in any meaningful way.

Since this philosophy is nonsensical, there must be some fundamental absolutes of right and wrong, regardless of the opinions of any given society. Since there are disagreements among different cultures, we cannot assume that these truths are developed by one particular group of people. In fact, the only logical place for these concepts to originate from is something more universal, or at least more fundamental, than culture.

Search More Now!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?